Title: Icy-Dicey: “Manthem”

Excerpt from Divine Play, pp. 618-619

Never got the breast when I was a pup,
So I grew a lot older but I never grew up.
I chose rock ‘n’ roll to make myself self-made,
’Cause you can be an adolescent till you fall down dead.
I prance around the stage in orgasmic pain.
If I had any kind of inner life, I’d feel ashamed.

I read poetry, like baby ducks and hugs.
But I write my songs about sex and drugs.
You might say I’m a proponent of equal rights.
I think that every pretty woman is equally entitled to—

Me, myself, and I:
A love that terrifies.
I, myself, and me:
In love so fervently.

I got a thousand homes on a thousand lakes.
Hope the drugs don’t kill me and my throat don’t break.
I could tell you stories ’bout my mom and dad.
They once told me that they loved me, but the hell with that.
We go from hotel rooms to the concert stage,
But we’re so self-absorbed we rarely notice the change.

We are the life of every party that we crash.
We got people who can clean up all the blood and trash.
You might say I’m a fighter for the rights of man.
If you don’t want a fight, you better pay up for the rights from—

Me, myself, and I:
A love that putrefies.
I, myself, and me:
In love so morbidly.

Me, myself, and I:
A love that vilifies.
I, myself, and me:
In love so hopelessly.

Me, myself, and I:
A love that horrifies
I, myself, and me:
In love so urgently.
Me, myself, and I:
A love that mortifies.
I, myself, and me:
In love so sickeningly.

About Tom Ukinski

Tom Ukinski is an attorney in state government in the Midwest. He's been writing plays, novels, short stories, comedy sketches and screenplays for many years.
This entry was posted in Book Excerpt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

